Posted in Lifestyle Corner

A Little Bit about the Scientist…

One of the most common questions I get when I meet someone is: “What is toxicology?” This question is usually followed by, “What do you want to do with that?” Toxicology is a field that is multi-disciplinary and will give me the opportunity to work in a problem solving environment. My dream career is to work in a vaccine development research laboratory. After answering the questions, the last follow-up question is: “How did you get interested in toxicology?” Like most college students, I changed my major. Toxicology actually found me.

After answering all the toxicology questions, I soon realize that I was the only toxicologist in the bunch. I’m not sure if this happens to any other toxicologists out there, but I am always the only toxicologist in the bunch. If I happen to meet other toxicologists, there are very few women in the group. As a young woman in science it is important for me to share my story with you because I want to help others that may have a similar story. What is your story? What field are you in?

There are women in science careers, but I believe that a change is necessary. How can we increase the number of women in science?

 

4 thoughts on “A Little Bit about the Scientist…

  1. I usually introduce myself as an Applied Physicist turned IT Security Consultant turned Consulting Engineer in Renewable Energies. This means I have worked in fields with very few female colleagues ever since.

    Good question … if you had been intrigued by science as it came naturally to you it is most difficult to answer. I had been interviewed sometimes as a ‘role model’ for women in science and technology, and I had never been able to explain ‘why there are so few women in science’.

    I feel there are a lot of initiatives and associations that run programs to motivate girls for science. What I found weird though (I am from middle Europe, I am not sure how this translates to other regions) is that often sociologists and the like had been in charge of those programs. I always thought that they should explain to me (not the other way around) based on their own choice of majors why there are few women in hard sciences.

    1. Thank you for reading my post and commenting! In the U.S. there are many initiatives and associations to encourage young girls in science. Even though we have these programs we still continue to see very few women in science careers. By coming together as women in science we can help provide resources, information and mentoring to young girls. As of right now I still find it difficult to answer: why there are so few women in science’.

Leave a Reply

