Posted in Research Corner

Like A Girl by Always Woman in Science Reflection

The other day I was watching a YouTube video and I came across this video by Always called #LikeAGirl. If you haven’t seen it click here. I usually skip the random advertisements on YouTube after 5 seconds, but this particular video caught my attention.

Always #LikeAGirl Video Woman in Science Reflection:

After watching the video it made me think. As a woman it made me think. As a woman in science it made me think again. Back in February I shared my reflection about being an African-American woman in science.

My goal for Mademoiselle Scientist is to share my journey and empower women in STEM. I cannot count how many times that many people, both men and women have told me that I could not do something because I am woman or because I am African-American. I know most of us shared a similar experience. As women we have to make it a priority to empower other women, especially girls interested in STEM because there are many girls that have never met a woman in a STEM career before. We have to change that. We have to mentor girls and teach them about STEM. Here are some of my 5 Tips for Women in Science.

Now that you have an idea about why I started Mademoiselle Scientist let’s go back to the video. The first question in video asks: What does it mean to do something “Like A Girl”?: When thinking about the answer to this question I think about the things that I am doing now. Being “like a girl” is being yourself. Whenever I do anything I want to make sure I am representing myself in a positive light and work the smartest way possible. Working hard is fine, but working smart is better. So my short answer to this question is: being true to myself and being me no matter what others will think. This is what it means to be “like a girl”. Whenever you are doing your best you are doing it “like a girl” because you are a girl!

A girl can do anything. A woman can do anything. When did the statement, “Like A Girl” become an insult? I am proud to be a woman and I know the Mademoiselle Scientists reading my blog are proud to be women too! We have to come together as women to teach girls that it is awesome to be a girl. It is awesome to be a woman. It is awesome to be a scientist, technologist, engineer or mathematician. Girls/women can do anything! You can do anything!

My advice for girls that want to pursue STEM is to keep pushing forward if this is what you want to do. There will be obstacles, challenges and many all-night study sessions, but you will make it. There will be courses that may question if a STEM career is for you, but you will make it. Keep your eyes on your goals and you will succeed! Don’t let anyone tell you that you cannot do something because you are “a girl”.

You are a girl! You are a woman! Be proud!

The video ended with the statement: Let’s make #LikeAGirl mean amazing things! I agree! Let’s do it! Are you with me?

What does #LikeAGirl mean to you? Let’s start a conversation in the comment section. If you know a girl who is interested in STEM mentor her. 

Leave a Reply

