Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dr-Greg-martin

Photo Credit: Dr. Greg Martin’s Google+ Page

In my first Spotlight on Science post I talked about Dr. Vincent Racaniello. In January of this year I talked about resources for scientists. If you have been following my blog for some time you know that I am a toxicologist and an aspiring vaccine researcher. Dr. Racaniello and Coursera.org are great resources to check out.

After taking the course and listening to Dr. Racaniello’s #TWIV podcasts I came across Dr. Greg Martin’s YouTube Channel after following him on twitter. Since I have been subscribed to his YouTube Channel for some time now I wanted to spotlight Dr. Martin as my second Spotlight on Science. Dr. Martin is a medical doctor with an MPH and MBA, Editor in Chief of Globalization and Health, and has diverse experience in global health. He is the person to watch if you want to learn more about global health.

The first video I watched was his first video on finding a job in global health and I was hooked ever since! One of my favorite videos is the #TWiGH episode on vaccines.

Dr. Martin’s YouTube Channel focuses on discussing issues in global health topics such as how to get a job in global health, HIV and analyzing data in Global Health. On August 27, 2014 he added a new segment, #TWiGH which is a live global health web show with a panel of global health experts:

#TWiGH panelists: Jessica Taaffe, Caity Jackson, and Kris Ronsin as well as different guest panelists each week.

You can interact with the panelists using #TWiGH. So far #TWiGH had episodes about the Ebola Virus Epidemic, vaccines and finding a job at the UN agency to name a few. The episodes are very informative and will keep you up-to-date on what is happening in Global Health. I like the style of his videos, has great energy and he explains global health in a way that makes it easy to understand.

If you want to learn more about what’s going on in global health check out Dr. Martin’s social media: YouTube, twitter and site. I’m looking forward to the next TWIGH episode.

If you a global health professional comment below. Have you checked out his YouTube channel? If so, what other related YouTube channels should I check out.

claimtoken-543dda12ec243

