Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

In my last Spotlight on Science post I talked about Dr. Greg Martin. For this Spotlight on Science/Mademoiselle Scientist post I will like to spotlight Dr. Amy Freeman.

Dr Amy Freeman

Photo Credit: AmyFreeman.net

Spotlight on Science/Mademoiselle Scientist: Dr. Amy Freeman:

Dr. Freeman is a writer, speaker, educator and Assistant Dean of Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Construction Management from Washington State University, and both a Master of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and Ph.D. in Workforce Education from the Pennsylvania State University. In addition, she belongs to numerous organizations including the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE), National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE), Society of Women Engineers (SWE) and Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) to name a few. She is a perfect example of a great role model for women in STEM.

The first time I met Dr. Freeman was at my first college fair. She told me about the opportunities at Penn State for students interested in STEM: Pre-First Year Science and Engineering Program and the Women in Engineering Program Orientation. A few years later I participated and both of those programs and they helped shaped me into who I am today. She is also one of the reasons I’m passionate about helping the next generations of scientists. When you meet Dr. Freeman you can see the passion in her heart when it comes to STEM diversity. She oversees many diversity programs such as the Multicultural Engineering Program (MEP) and Women in Engineering Program (WEP) among other things. Not to mention she is a dynamic speaker. If you want to sample a bit of her energy check out her YouTube Channel.  Do you feel her energy?

Now, that you know a bit more about her let me tell you why I decided to spotlight Dr. Amy Freeman. A little after I started my blog I was on LinkedIn and I heard that she published a book. I checked out her E-book so I was excited to read her new book. After congratulating her on her book she sent me a signed copy of her book, Stress Less: 10 Balancing Insights on Work and Life. A little over a month ago I read it and I’m glad I did. Her book was right on time because if you have been following me for some time you know that I have been working on myIDP tool. Dr. Freeman’s book is good to have on hand while I’m working on myIDP tool because there is an assessment after each chapter. The assessment questions help me dig deeper so that I can explore my goals and passions. I recommend this book for students and professionals.

If you believe in the vision of Mademoiselle Scientist you have to check Dr. Amy Freeman’s blog and book out! Follow her on social media: website, blog, twitter and YouTube channel.

Dr. Amy Freeman truly believes in women in STEM and truly represents a Mademoiselle Scientist. I am happy to have her as a role model! If you are a woman in science or anyone in STEM looking for inspiration check out Dr. Freeman’s website and book!

Do you belong to a Women in STEM group? If so, I would like to hear more about you and share it on my blog and twitter.

FTC: Not sponsored. All opinions are my own and the book was a gift.

