Posted in Career Corner, Spotlight on Science

Mademoiselle Scientist/Spotlight on Science: Dr. Monica Cox

In honor of Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day (March 8) I want to do a double feature to spotlight Dr. Monica Cox as this month’s Mademoiselle Scientist and Spotlight on Science. If you want to check out my last double feature check out my feature about MySciCareer and Dr. Amy Freeman to learn more about women that are doing great things in science!

A couple of weeks ago I was on twitter and I came across Dr. Monica F. Cox after participating in a #BLACKandSTEM twitter chat. I clicked on her twitter profile and checked out some of her tweets and knew I had to follow her. I like to keep my Mademoiselle Scientists network growing because it helps me build a strong support system. In an earlier post I talked about the importance of professional mentors and how I didn’t have may women STEM mentors growing up. I’m glad to see that I’m finding mentors everywhere!

monica3-240x300

Photo Credit: Marceli Chase Photography, Sourced from Prepared to Pioneer

Mademoiselle Scientist/Spotlight on Science: Dr. Monica Cox:

Dr. Monica Cox is a Mademoiselle Scientist that is a mathematician, engineer, entrepreneur, STEM advocate, comedienne and leader. She has a B.S. in mathematics from Spelman College, a M.S. in Industrial Engineering from University of Alabama and a Ph.D. in Leadership and Policy Studies form Peabody College at Vanderbilt University. On January 13, 2010 Dr. Cox earned the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientist and Engineers (PECASE). In 2013 she started her business, STEMinent LLC, created an animated STEM YouTube series, called Quirky Time, entered the fashion business and obtained a contract to write a book about the demystification of the engineering Ph.D. Then in 2011 she became a pioneer as the 1st African-American female professor to earn tenure in the College of Engineering at Purdue University. After earning tenure she decided to serve as a mentor and consultant for the future generations of STEM-ers, particularly underrepresented minorities. This is where PreparedtoPioneer comes in.

What is PreparedtoPioneer?

According to Dr. Cox Prepared to Pioneer is a brand that is designed to help people to fulfill their destines and achieve their goals and help you create actionable steps to achieve these goals. When you go on her PreparedtoPioneer you see the quote, ” I was prepared to be a professor, not a pioneer”. This is a powerful quote because you never know where your career will take you. It’s amazing when your passion, purpose and career meet. You never know what impact you will have on others.

Dr. Monica F. Cox is an extraordinary Mademoiselle Scientist because she is committed to using herself as a resource to mentor the next generation of STEM leaders. If you want to see what’s going on the blog side of the site click here.

I’m happy I had the opportunity to e-meet Dr. Cox and hope to collaborate with her in the future. PreparedtoPioneer has the same values as my blog, Mademoiselle Scientist and I’m glad that I have Dr. Cox/PrepararedtoPioneer as a resource. If you are a STEM-er this is the website for you!

To learn more about Dr. Monica Cox check out PreaparedtoPioneer and follow her on twitter along with #PioneerChat.

Are you ready to be a pioneer? Follow #PioneerChat.

Leave a Reply

