Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Toward the end of college I considered starting a blog, but I wasn’t sure. Then when I started graduate school I knew for sure I wanted to start blogging. As a graduate student I unofficially started blogging (generating ideas and topics) and discovered my first higher education blog, The Thesis Whisperer.

Dr Inger Mewburn The Thesis Whisperer

Photo Credit: TheThesisWhisperer 

Mademoiselle Spotlight: The Thesis Whisperer/Dr. Inger Mewburn:

Before officially starting Mademoiselle Scientist I reached out to The Thesis Whisperer and she emailed me back. She gave me some great feedback and tips to get started with my blog. The advice I remember the most is to just start blogging. There are not many blogs in the academic, science, women in STEM, student and early research career category so there is a huge need. So I started blogging and here I am two years into blogging. I have a lot to learn and many things to share in my journey as a woman in science.

Looking back I’m glad I took The Thesis Whisperer’s advice because I really enjoy reading her blog. I highly recommend it! It’s a great resource for graduate students and professionals. I can’t believe I didn’t know about The Thesis Whisperer earlier in my academic career. It would have been handy. On the bright side, I’m glad I found it!

What is The Thesis Whisperer?

The Thesis Whisperer is a newspaper style blog that talks about all the things you need to know about doing a Thesis. To sum it up The Thesis Whisperer is the Ultimate Interactive Thesis Academic Experience. Sounds great! And it is. All of this is edited by Dr. Inger Mewburn, Director of Research Training at the Australian National University.

Beyond The Thesis Whisperer, Dr. Inger Mewburn is a researcher specializing in research education since 2006. Previously she was an architecture lecturer for about a decade. She writes scholarly papers, hosts workshops, visits universities and much more. Also, she contributes book chapters and wrote the first Thesis Whisperer Book, How to Tame Your Ph.D. and has another book coming out soon, How to Write Your Thesis Faster.

Last month Dr. Inger Mewburn opened a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) at The Australian National University on Edx.org called, How to Survive Your Ph.D. If you are a fan of The Thesis Whisperer I know you will enjoy this course. I’m taking the course and I enjoyed the impostor syndrome discussion.

Dr. Inger Mewburn represents a Mademoiselle who is an advocate for higher education. She is committed to sharing her knowledge to help others during their thesis process. She gives you the good, bad, ugly and serves as a resource for anyone reading her blog. I urge all graduate students, prospective graduate students and academics to check out The Thesis Whisperer.

After following The Thesis Whisperer I came across more resources: The Research Whisperer, This Week in Virology (TWIV), Science Mentor, This Week in Global Health (TWiGH), Tenure, She Wrote and the list goes on.

To learn more about The Thesis Whisperer/Dr. Inger Mewburn check out her blog or follow her on twitter.

I enjoy reading academic, science and career blogs. What other blogs should I check out? Share below.

