Tags

, , , , , , ,

First I want to say I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, Happy Easter and Happy Women’s History Month! I can’t believe this is my first blog post of 2016 because I took a blogging hiatus. It feels good to get back into the swing of blogging. For as long as I can remember I have been a bit of a workaholic. Last year was a busy year for me. I had work, blogging, projects, coursework, a personal life and many things going on. I had to take a step back and realize I need to reevaluate some things in my life to achieve a better work-life balance.

Even though I’m a young and healthy woman I have to remember I cannot do it all. I’m all for being a superwoman, but this superwoman needs a break. I’ve been reading a few blog posts here and there; talking to other women about this issue and realized that a superwoman needs to know her limits. In addition, a superwoman has to start saying “no”. When you say “no” that does not mean that you are being “rude”. A superwoman asserts herself and is confident. If you want to learn more about how you can be the best superwoman you can be in the workplace check out the book, Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office by Lois P. Frankel.

Besides this Lois P. Frankel’s book I recommend reading Dr. Amy Freeman’s book about work-life balance, Stress Less: 10 Balancing Insights on Work and Life. I did a Mademoiselle Spotlight on her last year and talked about how she is an inspiration to me as an African-American Woman in Science. She is a wonderful mentor and in her book I learned so many things about how I can achieve work-life balance.

Dr. Amy Freeman’s book is one of those books that I will keep on my bookshelf and re-read. There are a few books that I find myself re-reading and I have a few of those books on my useful books page of my blog. After re-reading her book I told myself I have to reevaluate and take a step back if I want to be a better superwoman and achieve work-life balance. Breaks are good and change is good. There are so many things I’m working on at the moment and taking this blogging hiatus and saying no to things has made me a better superwoman! I am grateful for all the opportunities, projects, blogging, learning new things, and all of the people I have met in-person and online. Here’s to 2016, new beginnings, changes, adventures and having a more balanced life.

Every woman can be a superwoman. A superwoman does not have to do everything all at once and say yes to everybody. Don’t stress yourself out too much trying to be a superwoman and doing things that are beyond your control. Take of charge of the things you can control and accept the things you cannot control.

Do you feel as a woman you never take off your superwoman cape? How do you live a more balanced life? Share below.

