Posted in Academic Corner, Career Corner

Resources for Scientists using MOOCs: Coursera vs Edx.org

If you have been subscribed to my blog you know that I enjoy learning. Whenever I find a resource I have to share it. My two favorite resources for online learning are Coursera.org and Edx.org. These two Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) sites are perfect if you want to learn something new now.

After a few years of using both of these MOOC sites: Coursera.org and Edx.org I have a good feel about what they have to offer. Both sites offer tons of courses in various subjects taught by professors from universities around the world. Whether you want to earn a certificate, learn a new subject area, enhance your knowledge for your career or enroll in a multiple-course specialization unit Coursera.org and Edx.org are perfect for you.

Both MOOC sites have apps available for smartphones and tablets which makes learning on-the-go easy. I prefer to use my computer to take my courses and I like use Microsoft OneNote to take notes. I like using OneNote because it helps me keep the information organized and I like that it gives me that notebook feel even though I use it on the computer.

After using both sites I can honestly say you can’t go wrong with Coursera.org or Edx.org. Both will give you a great digital learning experience to help you in your career. Whether you are an undergraduate, graduate, professional or thinking about learning something new I’m sure you will find a course that fits your needs. I suggest creating an account for both to keep track of what courses are available. There are so many courses and you don’t want to miss out. 

Overall I have only positive things to say about Coursera.org and Edx.org. Over the passed few years I have learned so much from taking Coursera.org and Edx.org courses and have made progress with myIDP tool. Every course has helped me gain knowledge that will help me succeed in my career. I highly recommend Virology I and II (Coursera.org) by Dr. Vincent Racaniello, Vaccines (Coursera.org),  Epidemics – the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases (Coursera.org), and How to Survive Your PhD by Dr. Inger MewBurn (Edx.org). It is so amazing how resources like this are available on the internet. Whether you like to learn online, in school or by reading a book take the opportunity to learn something new!

This year I am looking forward to the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL) Course: Advancing Learning through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching Course on Coursera.org that starts June 1 2016. If you are interested in STEM Teaching or want to become an academic researcher or faculty member then this is the course for you. I can’t wait to see what this course has to offer because I am exploring the option of becoming a science professor.

If you want to learn more about Coursera.org or Edx.org check out these blog posts: Coursera post and Edx post.

How do you feel about MOOCs? Have you tried them? Comment below.

One thought on “Resources for Scientists using MOOCs: Coursera vs Edx.org

Leave a Reply

