Tags

, , , , , , ,

In my last Spotlight on Science Post I talked about MySciCareer as a resource for scientists. Now, I’m back for another resource for scientists. This time I’m going to share a podcast I have been listening to lately. As far as science podcast go I have only been subscribed to This Week in Virology (TWIV) and This Week in Global Health (TWiGH). Then a few months ago I was looking on twitter and I came across This Week in Science (TWIS) so I decided to check it out. I’m all for listening to talks about science. After listening to a few episodes I decided TWIS is something that I want to tune into on a regular basis. The cool thing about TWIS is that they talk about various topics in science and each episode is a chance to find out the latest things happening in science and technology. With that being said I recommend TWIS for anyone in the STEM field! I like listening to this podcast in the evening.

This Week in Science (TWIS) is hosted by Dr. Kirsten Sanford, a Ph.D. in neuroscience, Justin Jackson, a professional car salesman and armchair physicist and Blair Bazdarich, TWIS resident zoologist.

Another thing I enjoy with TWIS that I’m noticing with other science podcast is the excitement to talk about science tossed in with some humor. This makes the podcast enjoyable, easy to follow and make me want to tune in. TWIS opened doors to other science areas that I may not have come across and I appreciate the TWIS team for that.

P.S.: This Week in Science has a really cool theme song! I always find myself singing along.

On Wednesday, February 4, 2015 This Week in Science celebrated its 500th episode. Congratulations to the entire TWIS team! I wonder what the next episode will be about.

If you want to learn more about This Week in Science check subscribe to the podcast and check out their website. TWIS broadcast weekly at 8:00 PM Pacificic Time Wednesdays from Google+ Hangouts on Air, YouTube, on their website and rebroadcast KDVS, 90.3 FM in Davis, CA. So tell your science friends about TWIS!

What STEM podcast do you like to listen to? Share below.

