Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Since today is my 2nd Blogiversary I decided it was a perfect time to reflect on my journey as a woman in STEM and two years as a science blogger.

When I think about my journey as a woman in STEM I like to think about where I started. I always knew I wanted to become a scientist. I always knew I wanted to become a researcher. But the one thing I questioned was; how would I get there? I know we all have been there at one point of our STEM career.

There are many girls and young women that have this same question but some will never become scientists. Why? Because we didn’t give them the resources they needed to pursue their STEM degree and mentor them. If we don’t mentor them who will?

Mentoring is important at all levels. Mentors are real people who went through the ups and downs of a STEM career and made it. It’s not impossible without mentors but mentors can make a huge difference. There is a lot I can say about mentors and I will talk about that in a future post and I’m looking forward to sharing my mentoring series with you soon.

My mentors from an early age and the drive I had inside pushed me to become a scientist, researcher, and science writer/blogger. Through all the ups and downs I still wanted to pursue a STEM career. Why? Because I cannot imagine myself in another career. Science is something that comes natural to me and I like the challenge that comes along with it.

Further into my STEM journey I discovered my passion for science goes beyond research and writing. My passion extends to being an advocate for women in STEM and sharing resources to help others in their STEM career. As a Science blogger I have a platform that will grow and I’m excited to see what’s next for Mademoiselle Scientist! What do you want to see?

Moving forward I want to continue to share resources that will help fellow Mademoiselle Scientists. I want to learn more so that I can become a vaccine researcher. I will share my journey and help you with your journey.

What else? I will learn more, research, write and continue being an advocate for women in STEM. I will continue with my Spotlight on Science Series and share more resources with you. There are many things in progress, which means I’m updating myIDP tool. Stay tuned. I’m thankful for all the opportunities: past, present and future and appreciate you following my journey on Mademoiselle Scientist. Here are my top two tips to help you with your STEM career journey.

My Top Two Tips to Help You on Your STEM Career Journey:

1. Take Advantage of your Resources: There are many opportunities and options for people in the STEM field. Just take your pick and make it happen! Never let your fear of failure or being unsuccessful stop you from pursuing your goals. I know for me some people didn’t understand why I wanted to do science, but I knew science was the career for me.

2. Realize that it’s okay to take a step back in your STEM career: When you take a step back two things can happen. A. You realize you still like your current career or B. You realize you need to look at other career options. When I was questioning different things in my STEM career journey it made me realize I needed to take a step back. I used this time to reflect on my goals, find new mentors and go on informational interviews. After a few months I was able to move forward and have a sense of clarity for the next phase of my STEM journey.

My STEM Journey
To be continued…

Did you always know you wanted to become a scientist? Share below.

