Professional Role Models in STEM

One of the reasons I started Mademoiselle Scientist is to support the next generation of scientists. Before I started Mademoiselle Scientist The Thesis Whisperer was the first educational blog I came across. Dr. Inger Mewburn inspired me to start blogging. After that I found more women in STEM bloggers who have inspired me: Science Mentor#BLACKandSTEM, and Ellekement to name a few. As I move forward with Mademoiselle Scientist I want to this space to be resource, inspiring and a supportive community.  

When I was younger I did not have many women STEM role models. My first professional role model was my aunt who is an electrical engineer. Professional role models are important for a successful career. Every day while I’m drinking my morning tea I like to read Ms. Career Girl. 

When you surround yourself around professional role models, leaders or even read articles about being a role model/ leader it will make an impact on your career. Take the plunge and find a few professional role models. You can email them, set up informational interviews.

When you have professional role models it gives you hope that you will achieve your goals and move forward to become a professional role model. You have to play the part for the career you want. Do not let your current situation stop you. If you want to be successful surround yourself around successful people and read about successful people.

Who are your professional role models? Share below.

15 thoughts on “Professional Role Models in STEM

  1. Pingback: Spotlight on Science/Mademoiselle Scientist: Dr. Amy Freeman: | Mademoiselle Scientist

  2. Pingback: Advice I Wish My Younger Self Knew: STEM Edition | Mademoiselle Scientist

  3. Pingback: My Informational Interview Tips | Mademoiselle Scientist

  4. Pingback: What Does a Scientist Look Like?/Too Pretty to be a Scientist | Mademoiselle Scientist

  5. Pingback: Mademoiselle Scientist/Spotlight on Science: Dr. Monica Cox | Mademoiselle Scientist

  6. Pingback: #DearME STEM College Student Edition: What I Would Tell My Younger Self Part II | Mademoiselle Scientist

  7. Pingback: The Real Talk about the PhD #PioneerChat Reflection: | Mademoiselle Scientist

  8. Pingback: My 2nd Blogiversary: My STEM Journey – To be Continued… | Mademoiselle Scientist

  9. Pingback: Spotlight on Science/Mademoiselle Scientist: Science Mentor/Donna Kridelbaugh | Mademoiselle Scientist

  10. Pingback: 10 Gift Ideas for Scientists II: | Mademoiselle Scientist

  11. Pingback: Self-Mentoring and Understanding What you Want in a Mentor | Mademoiselle Scientist

  12. Pingback: Different Types of Mentors and My Mentoring Experiences | Mademoiselle Scientist

  13. Pingback: Finding Mentors + My Top Mentee Tips | Mademoiselle Scientist

  14. Pingback: Spotlight on Science/Mademoiselle Scientists: Beyond the (Micro)Scope Podcast: | Mademoiselle Scientist

  15. Pingback: #ThankYourMentor – National Mentoring Month: My Science Mentoring Story | Mademoiselle Scientist

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.